I’m Not Sorry: A Pancreatically-Challenged Redhead’s Lament

Alright, I wasn’t going to say anything about this whole Crossfit thing, but it’s bothering me so much; I can’t focus on anything else until I regurgitate my thoughts. If you don’t know what I’m referring to, see below: image1This isn’t the end of it. In fact, that^ tweet was just the beginning. Scroll through @CrossFit’s timeline from yesterday, June 30th. It’s filled with them diabetes-shaming & blaming, while refusing to apologize, telling US that WE misunderstood because they “clearly” meant Type 2 Diabetes {even though it was not specified anywhere; again, see above^}, perpetuating diabetes myths, saying the MOST RIDICULOUS THING EVER that T1’s can also get T2 if they eat too much sugar, etc, etc…
I have to say it. If this photo said “open cancer” with the same caption, it would be on all major news networks, everyone would be slandering these people…it would be an outrage.
So I ask you {seriously, I’m asking; everyone always thinks this is rhetorical}, what is so hilarious about diabetes jokes? You wouldn’t joke about your “homies” dying from cancer, or any other chronic/life-threatening/terminal disease, so please explain to me why I can’t avoid hearing diabetes jokes any time I watch a movie or turn on the TV or go in public?
Folks, it’s humiliating. I can’t even watch The Vow without hearing, “Are you trying to make me diabetic or just fat?”
Death is a true fear that I have to face every day. Dead-In-Bed Syndrome is something I grapple with nearly every night. It’s prevalence is primarily high in people in my age group. I could fall asleep tonight and never wake up because of my Type 1 diabetes.So no, I don’t think this “mock parody” {as Crossfit is calling it} is funny.

Dead in bed syndrome (DIB) is a term used to describe the sudden unexplained deaths of young people with type 1 diabetes. The syndrome is characterised as when someone with insulin dependent diabetes has gone to bed seemingly perfectly fine and has been found dead in an undisturbed bed. Read more about Dead-In-Bed here.

I need to know why the American public needs diabetes jokes. I also need YOU to know that no diabetes is directly caused by sugar: many Type 2’s only have T2 because it runs in their families. I know of many T2’s who are marathon runners and are extremely healthy people, yet they were diagnosed with T2.
Before you condone and laugh at diabetes jokes, think of the babies who are diagnosed before they even have a chance in the world. Think of the little kids who take 10 shots a day plus 10 finger pricks, who can’t have a carefree childhood, who are comatose or who have brain damage, all because of T1D. Think of how many T1’s are sitting there with their heads down, face red, embarrassed, feeling terrible about themselves, just so you could have a little laugh about something that isn’t even true {I have never heard a diabetes joke that separates Type 1 from Type 2. And even so, it’s not funny to joke about T2 either.}
Every show or movie I’ve seen that had diabetes jokes would be just as funny without them. The scene would be just as cute/funny/solid without those hurtful jokes, so why are they added in there {if it would be just as funny without it}? Why do these writers want to hurt and embarrass people just to make YOU laugh, and WHY are YOU laughing about people dying?
Everyone likes to tell us: “Stop being so sensitive. Diabetes is manageable.” Well, if you don’t have diabetes, then you have no credibility in saying that. You don’t know what it’s like. You may assume that it’s manageable just because I’m not currently passing out in front of you, but you don’t even know that I may be sitting there trying to avoid a coma. I’ve been at parties, family gatherings, etc. with a soaring blood sugar, otherwise known as hyperglycemia, {or hypoglycemia–low blood sugar} fighting the extreme urge to fall asleep because I know if I fall asleep that high {or low}, I may not wake up. But no one’s ever noticed it, because we are always having to hide it. Many times, we are too embarrassed to even identify ourselves as “Type 1 diabetics” or just “diabetics” especially.
There’s been many times in public where a stranger has asked about my pump, and I respond explaining that I have T1D. I’ve even been cussed out, screamed at, and shamed for giving an insulin injection in public around children {even though I was discreet.} I can think of one time in particular where a lady immediately asked after I told her about my T1D {following her invasive questioning about my pump}: “Did your mother feed you lots of sugar growing up?” She continued on, saying extremely insensitive, ignorant things, making assumptions about my body and health, all while I was trying to enjoy a meal with friends. This kind of thing happens to us all the time, guys. We are constantly being humiliated, all because of misinformation.

T1 Diabetes is hard enough. Why do you need to make it harder by laughing at my pain?

I don’t want your sympathy or pity. I don’t want to be coddled. But I do want you to also be affected by these hurtful jokes and words. Simply, I want you to CARE. I want you to realize this is wrong. And I want you to care enough to do something about it, even if that “something” is as simple as refusing to laugh at a hurtful joke.

12 thoughts on “I’m Not Sorry: A Pancreatically-Challenged Redhead’s Lament

  1. karimaeholm says:

    I like how you compared it to Cancer. I keep thinking this “ad” or “joke” is comparable to someone in the 80’s posting a picture of a picture of two men with an AIDS related comment. Just because popular culture has painted this false picture of how people develop diabetes (or any disease) doesn’t mean you should add to that false canvas without knowing the facts.
    Putting their ignorance aside with the actual image, the caption is what completely appalls me. I feel like at minimum they should apologize for such an insensitive comment about death.

  2. Patricia Klinger says:

    Unless you live with diabetes (either type), you have no clue as to what we have to endure, both physically AND emotionally. For type 1’s, there are the constant gglucose testing (6+ times a day), multiple daily injections (unlss you are fortunate enough to have a pump), carb counting at EVERY meal and snack, and having to do this on top of everyday life things. PLUS, we know that with this disease, that we may face neuropathy, loss of body parts, blindness, heart disease, kidney and liver disease and DEATH. You have NO RIGHT to joke about this disease.
    ALSO, Typed 1 diabetes IS NOT PREVENTABLE! Diet plays no part in determining if you get diabetes mellitus (type 1). IT IS AN AUTOIMMUNE DISEASE!
    So please, unless you have this disease, keep your mouth shut and your ears open. You may learn something.

    • J.R. says:

      Your comments were great! Thank you for highlighting the scary parts of diabetes. If people really knew what complications looked like, they wouldn’t make jokes. While I think we need to stay positive about these types of things, we also need to support each other and explain to others while their jokes are SO SO SO offensive to us.

  3. shelly jardine says:

    thank you from a another diabetic redhead so some up well what has made all of us in the diabetic community so mad over this crossfit has no idea how strong and united us in the diabetic community are

  4. Jake says:

    As a 25 yo that was diagnosed with type 1 about 2.5 years ago, you need to chill out. Stress kills as fast as managed diabetes. Diabetes jokes are hilarious. Type 1 and 2 should just be named completely different things. How could you expect the public to know all the differences? Do you research every disease you don’t have?

    • shoupeam says:

      Some diabetes jokes may seem comical to some people. Personally, I don’t believe it’s a laughing matter, since T1 has tried to take my life many times. Additionally, Crossfit make a joke about people DYING from diabetes. That’s a line that should not ever be crossed, no matter what disease.

    • s1s says:

      no, most people don’t research diseases they don’t have. but if you’re going to *preach* about a disease – even if you don’t have it (ESPECIALLY if you don’t have it) – then at least *some* research would be in your best interest.

    • shoupeam says:

      Also, I don’t expect the public to know the differences. That’s why I feel it is my job to educate. I can either sit around and be angry about it, or I can do something about it by educating.

  5. Robert E. Heath II says:

    My 8 year old niece was diagnosed with type 1. I find people who make these jokes sick and repulsive. Anyone with a brain would try to understand it, not slander it. I worry everyday about my niece. I worry that one day my sister will call me in tears to give me some horrible news. We need to educate these fools and show them that. This is NOT a joke. It is not self inflicted. This is something that, I don’t know, 9 out of 10 diabetics are born with. Sometimes it never rears its ugly head, but sometimes it does. I pray for ALL diabetics. I wish you hope in dealing with your daily struggle.

  6. Allyson says:

    i must say I am torn on this entire idea. As an adult that has had brittle Type 1 for 26 years, I still struggle with the embarrassment concept of T1D. As a child I was embarrassed, however I attribute that to being a kid. Most teens/kids have something they feel embarrassed about and try to hide for fear of others shutting them out. As I can’t remember life without diabetes, I believe there is a different reaction between those that have been diabetic “forever” and those that have a diagnosis later in life.
    The best thing I can pass on that I have learned about diabetes, I learned from my parents and my pediatrician. They always told me, “you have diabetes but that doesn’t mean you are diabetic.” They meant that it doesn’t matter how others refer to my behaviors, it matters how I feel about those behaviors. When I learned that I take shots/wear a pump to keep me healthy, I stopped caring about others perceptions. An uninformed or ignorant person can’t compete with my knowledge; I know what I’m doing and why. Diabetes will not be the description of allyson, allyson is much more. This is important for all those with diabetes to know.
    This attitude doesn’t mean I don’t feel it. I have days that I cry all day cause it’s not fair, I can honestly say I NEVER feel “good” because I’m always climbing or dropping. I have literally spent years (all together) of my life in the hospital with diabetic ketoacidosis, a few times I have spent more than a week in cardiac ICU because of potassium levels. I have planned my funeral many times. The point is I understand the horrible feelings and the need for the world to stop judging. The point is we can all pull together to communicate that we are not injured, we are not scared, and we are not sick; we are normal just like everyone else, that’s why we check our blood sugar and take insulin: to keep us normal.
    When people ask me if I have sugar, I tell them “no, my blood sugar is fine but thanks for checking.” When I need a shot, I pull out my syringe and insulin draw it up high in front of my face (if someone looks at me funny I smile), and pull out a piece of my stomach to inject.
    I believe the best way to make a difference is to make a statement. Let’s show them we’re normal. No we don’t feel good but that makes us stronger, more driven individuals.
    I am proud of my diabetes and my ability to inform the world of their ignorance by watching me succeed!
    I love you Audra and I hope you find strength through your trials and travels with T1D!

  7. Susan Cochran says:

    I’ve had t1d since 1968. Grossman’s comments have left a sour taste in my mouth from all the things I heard back then and still to this day. Heck, my husband still thinks I should be able to manage “it” better. You know what I’d like to say to Grossman? “Shut up until you’ve lived with it for 47 years, that’s over 17,155 days of living with t1d, 24/7, without a day off. You have no idea! The good news is that I didn’t have it as small child. I’m blessed!”

Leave a comment